Tags

, , ,

I finally did it last weekend. I had my very first, real, English riding lesson. I was matched with a wonderful Palomino Quarter Horse. He was very forgiving of my inadequate leg aids. As was evidence by my inability to get him to turn in a circle. It was such a lovely, calming experience even though my calves were screaming by the time I got back into the van to go home.

This first experience was everything I could have hoped for. I looked a bit daft while walking around the arena. I also looked ridiculous trying to get my horse out of the field, in a foot of mud. It has been so wet and snowy and frozen, that the turn out is mostly calf deep mud. My instructor was so patient too. I can’t wait until this Sunday. I am hoping that the rain and snow hold off on Saturday.

