img_51561

I applied for a foreign service posting though USDA, where I currently work. I never thought in a million years that I would get the job. But I did. And now my family and I are planning to pack and move to Cairo.

This is probably the most exciting thing I’ve ever done in my life. I also know that the process to get posted will take an inordinate amount of time, that no logical explanation can suffice. Needless to say I’ve started the process with everyone. First was the Medical. Two appointments in DC in the morning. With the kids. Who have never had blood drawn except as newborns. This was not a fun experience. Between the TB test placement and the blood draw, I was pretty sure my kids were going to kill me. At that point, we hadn’t told them about the job and moving for 2 years. Probably should have but we didn’t know how, so the State Department medical team did it for us.

Next is the security clearance. I finished the questionnaire in 3 hours and turned it in. I was told I won the award for the fastest ever submitted. I’ve also been through this process a number of time already so there is that. Now it is just a hurry up and wait. Standby to Standby so to speak.

I am really excited. My kids are excited. My husband is excited, except for one small problem. He has to leave a career of 35 years to follow me on this adventure. This is where our 12 year age difference matters. We are hoping he can get a job when we get there. But there are never any guarantees. We made a promise to each other 14 years ago that if one gets an amazing position the other will follow and vice versa. This is the first time we’ve ever tested this promise though. So far, I am pleasantly surprised that he is on board with this. I plan to post here as the process moves forward so I can remember what it was like. I hope someone else will follow along here as well.

 

